MAAH Stone Book Award

Now Open For Submissions

The Museum of African American History (MAAH) Stone Book Award celebrates writing on the subject of African American history and culture by awarding a $25,000 prize to the author of an exceptional adult non-fiction book written in a literary style. Two Finalists prizes of $2,500 each will also be awarded (new for 2019). Created in 2018, our inaugural winner was Tera W. Hunter for her stellar work ‘Bound in Wedlock: Slave and Free Black Marriage in the Nineteenth Century’.


  • To recognize new literary work in the field of African American history and culture.
  • To nurture and inspire future scholarly writing in the field.
  • To reinforce the necessity of continuously examining history.
  • To foster community engagement and dialogue centered around a widely accessible new literary work.
  • To celebrate the joy of learning through reading in partnership with an appreciation of the American historical, cultural artifacts held by the museum to tell stories of the African American experience.
  • To celebrate the history of the successful abolitionist movement that began in Boston and the unity between races that it exemplified and fostered


  • All books must have been published in the U.S. with a publication date between April 1, 2018 and March 31, 2019.
  • All books must be printed in English. Translations are not eligible.
  • All authors must be U.S. residents.
  • Books must be submitted by publishers and literary agents only. Books may not be submitted for consideration directly by the author.
  • Neither self-published works, where the author is the publisher, nor e-books are eligible for this award. Textbooks and anthologies are not eligible. Co-authored books are not eligible.
  • All books must be adult non-fiction. Graphic novels are not eligible.

The 2019 MAAH Stone Book Award will open for submissions on March 1, 2019. The complete submissions guidelines – which includes the link to the online submissions form can be downloaded here .

Be sure to follow us on social media for award updates: